Can only be played when a minion attempts to make a strike to inflict aggravated damage against the opposing vampire. Put this card on a vampire when an opposing minion attempts to inflict aggravated damage on him or her, whether the damage would be successfully inflicted or not. Combat ends. This vampire is tapped and sent to torpor. This vampire does not untap as normal. During this vampire's next untap phase, burn this card.
Clarifications and Rulings
Should be played as written - that is, played on the vampire whose opponent in combat attempts to use aggravated damage against him. [RTR 19980623]
Cannot be played in response to aggravated damage done from "environmental" sources. [RTR 19961113]
Cannot be played in response to an announcement of a strike (or other effect) that is not effective at the current range. [RTR 19980928]
Rotschreck is played when the attempt to use aggravated damage is announced. If the attempt is in the form of a strike, Rotschreck is played during the strike announcement phase (before any damage prevention can be played). It can be played after the other strike is announced, however. [LSJ 19990217]
If combat is continued or a new combat started, then rest of the effect of Rotschreck is lost. [RTR 20020501]