Pool Cost: 1
Burn a minion card as it is played. The cost of the canceled card is not paid. If the burned card was an action card, the acting minion remains untapped. If the card was a strike card, the minion chooses another strike.
Clarifications and Rulings
If Direct Intervention is used to cancel a card during a political action, neither card is replaced until the political action is ended. [LSJ 19970224]
Since the NRA rule is applied to the acting minion when the action resolves (is blocked or is successful), the minion whose action card is canceled by Direct Intervention is free to attempt the same type of action again, even with (another copy of) the same card. [LSJ 19980212]
Can only burn minion cards played from the hand in the normal fasion (not weapons played via Disguised Weapon or equipment played via Pier 13, for example). [RTR 20001020]
If the canceled card had a "Do Not Replace Until" clause on it, that clause is canceled as well (and the card is replaced normally, subject to other effects - referendum in progress, Visit from the Capuchin, etc.) [LSJ 20011023]